What happened in the Nova Scotia election?

What happened in the Nova Scotia election?

In a major upset, Tim Houston led the Progressive Conservatives to power for the first time since 2006, and with a majority government for the first time since 1999. With a popular vote share of 38.44%, the PCs won the smallest winning vote share of any majority government in Nova Scotian electoral history.

When was the last time Nova Scotia was PC?

It formed government for only six years between 1867 and 1956. It bottomed out in 1945, when the party was shut out of the legislature altogether.

How many seats did the PC get in Nova Scotia?

The 2017 Nova Scotia general election was held on May 30, 2017, to elect members to the Nova Scotia House of Assembly. The Liberals under Premier Stephen McNeil won re-election with a somewhat reduced majority, falling from 34 seats at dissolution to 27 seats.

How did Nova Scotia vote in the last federal election?

In 2015, the Liberals swept Nova Scotia in convincing fashion, winning an outright majority of the votes cast in all but one riding; that year, they won every seat in Atlantic Canada.

When did Nova Scotia join Canada?

Nova Scotia, Canadian province located on the eastern seaboard of North America, one of the four original provinces (along with New Brunswick, Ontario, and Quebec) that constituted the Dominion of Canada in 1867.

Who is the youngest Premier of Nova Scotia?

The leadership race culminated in MacDonald winning the party’s leadership on a second ballot on February 11, 2006. He was sworn in as Premier of Nova Scotia on February 24, succeeding Hamm. He is the second youngest premier in Nova Scotia’s history.

Is Justin Trudeau still prime minister of Canada?

listen), born December 25, 1971) is a Canadian politician who is the 23rd and current prime minister of Canada since November 2015 and the leader of the Liberal Party since April 2013.

Is Halifax conservative or liberal?

Members of Parliament

Parliament Years Party
41st 2011–2015 New Democratic
42nd 2015–2019 Liberal
43rd 2019–2021
44th 2021–present