What are the 4 major plexuses?

What are the 4 major plexuses?

Of the four major nerve plexuses (cervical, brachial, lumbar, and sacral), only the brachial plexus and sacral plexus can be assessed satisfactorily in the EDX laboratory.

What are the four nerve plexuses and their functions?

The cervical plexus supplies nerves to the posterior head and neck, as well as to the diaphragm. The brachial plexus supplies nerves to the arm. The lumbar plexus supplies nerves to the anterior leg. The sacral plexus supplies nerves to the posterior leg.

Which spinal nerves make up the cervical brachial lumbar and sacral plexus?

Somatic motor nerve of spinal nerve. The ventral rami (Fig. 3.72) of C1–C5, those of C5–T1, and those of L2–S3 compose the cervical, brachial, and lumbosacral plexuses, respectively (Fig. 3.82).

What does the cervical plexus include?

The cervical plexus is formed from the anterior primary rami of C1–C4, deep to the sternocleidomastoid muscle and in front of the scalenus medius and levator scapulae muscles. Sensory branches include the greater and lesser occipital nerves, great auricular nerve, cutaneous cervical nerves, and supraclavicular nerves.

What does the lumbar plexus innervate?

The lumbar plexus provides innervation to several important muscles. Notable muscles include the psoas muscle, quadratus lumborum, lumbar transverse muscles, quadriceps femoris, transversus abdominis, and internal oblique muscles.

What is cervical plexus?

The cervical plexus is a plexus of the anterior rami of the first four cervical spinal nerves which arise from C1 to C4 cervical segment in the neck. They are located laterally to the transverse processes between prevertebral muscles from the medial side and vertebral (m. scalenus, m.

How many nerve plexuses are there?

five spinal nerve plexuses
Nerve plexuses are composed of afferent and efferent fibers that arise from the merging of the anterior rami of spinal nerves and blood vessels. There are five spinal nerve plexuses—except in the thoracic region—as well as other forms of autonomic plexuses, many of which are a part of the enteric nervous system.

What is the function of the cervical plexus?

Cervical plexus – serves the head,neck and shoulders.

  • Brachial plexus – serves the chest,shoulders,arms and hands.
  • Lumbosacral plexus. Lumbar plexus – serves the back,abdomen,groin,thighs,knees,and calves.
  • Coccygeal plexus – serves a small region over the coccyx.
  • What is the major nerve of the cervical plexus?

    The ansa cervicalis which gives motor innervation branches to the infrahyoid muscles.

  • The cervical plexus also gives off smaller branches,which are attached to the accessory nerve (CN XI) and supply the trapezius and sternocleidomastoid.
  • Segmental branches also innervate the anterior and middle scalene muscles.
  • What are the 4 major nerve plexuses?

    What are the 4 major nerve plexuses? Nerve plexus. Cervical plexus – serves the head, neck and shoulders. Brachial plexus – serves the chest, shoulders, arms and hands. Lumbar plexus – serves the back, abdomen, groin, thighs, knees, and calves. Sacral plexus – serves the pelvis, buttocks, genitals, thighs, calves, and feet.

    Where is the cervical plexus located?

    Lesser occipital nerve – innervates the skin and the scalp posterosuperior to the auricle (C2)

  • Great auricular nerve – innervates skin near concha auricle ( outer ear) and external acoustic meatus ( ear canal) (C2&C3)
  • Transverse cervical nerve – innervates anterior region of neck (C2 and C3)