Who won the 2014 World Chess Championship?

Who won the 2014 World Chess Championship?

Magnus Carlsen
The World Chess Championship 2014 was a match between the world champion Magnus Carlsen and challenger Viswanathan Anand, to determine the World Chess Champion….World Chess Championship 2014.

Defending champion Challenger
Winner of the 2013 World Chess Championship Winner of the 2014 Candidates Tournament

Who won Candidates 2014 chess?

Viswanathan Anand

Candidates Tournament 2014
Viswanathan Anand, the winner of the Candidates Tournament 2014, advanced to the World Chess Championship 2014 match.
Venue Yugra Chess Academy
Location Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia
Dates 13–31 March 2014

Who won the World chess championship 5 times?

Viswanathan “Vishy” Anand (born 11 December 1969) is an Indian chess grandmaster and a five-time world chess champion.

Who won the World chess championship 2015?

The Chess World Cup 2015 was a 128-player single-elimination chess tournament held in Baku, Azerbaijan, from 10 September to 5 October 2015. Sergey Karjakin won the competition on tie-breaks after a four-game final against Peter Svidler.

Who did Viswanathan Anand defeated in 2012 to retain the World chess Champion title?

Boris Gelfand
The World Chess Championship 2012 was a chess match between the defending world champion Viswanathan Anand of India and Boris Gelfand of Israel, winner of the 2011 Candidates Tournament. After sixteen games, including four rapid games, Anand retained his title.

Did Vishy win world Cup?

Viswanathan Anand, (born December 11, 1969, Madras [now Chennai], India), Indian chess master who won the Fédération Internationale des Échecs (FIDE; international chess federation) world championship in 2000, 2007, 2008, 2010, and 2012.

Who Won chess Championship 2019?

Teimour Radjabov
2019 FIDE World Cup winner Teimour Radjabov. The Chess World Cup 2019 was a 128-player single-elimination chess tournament that took place in Khanty-Mansiysk, Russia, from 9 September to 4 October 2019. It was won by Azerbaijani grandmaster Teimour Radjabov.

Why was there no World Chess Championship in 2015?

But now the World Chess organization, FIDE, decided to overtake all matters concerning World Chess Championship. The champion could no longer pick his challengers, and a system of qualifiers was installed (Zonal, Interzonal, Candidate Matches, World Championship of 24 games against the sitting champion).

How many times Viswanathan Anand became world champion?

What happened in the 2014 World Chess Championship?

The 2014 World Chess Championship match opening ceremony. Anand is allocated the white pieces for game one by a random draw. 23 November. Carlsen defends his World Championship title. Before the match began, many commentators believed that Carlsen had very strong chances of winning.

Will Magnus Carlsen host the 2014 World Chess Championship match?

Magnus Carlsen becomes World Chess Champion 2013 in Chennai, India and thus qualifies for the 2014 World Chess Championship match. 10 January. FIDE announces procedure regulations for bidding to host the 2014 World Chess Championship match.

How did Carlsen retain the title of World Chess Champion?

Anand resigned on move 45, thus conceding the match and Carlsen retained the title of World Chess Champion. 1. e4 e5 2. Nf3 Nc6 3.

What is Carlsen’s opening in the 8th Chess World Cup?

The eighth game was played on 18 November 2014. The opening was a Queen’s Gambit Declined with 5.Bf4 which had won for Anand in game 3. Carlsen deviated from that game by playing 6…c5, an older line that was popular in the 1970s to 1990s but now less fashionable.