Who won the 1996 World Cup football?

Who won the 1996 World Cup football?

Germany won the tournament, beating the Czech Republic 2–1 in the final with a golden goal from Oliver Bierhoff during extra time; this was the first major competition to be decided using this method.

Who scored the golden goal in 1996?

Oliver Bierhoff
In the 73rd minute, second-half substitute Oliver Bierhoff scored with a header from a Christian Ziege cross. The full-time score was 1–1, sending the match into extra time: the golden goal rule applied such that the first team to score in the additional period would immediately win the game.

Who won Euro 1996 final?

Germany national football teamUEFA Euro 1996 / Champion

Who was in Euro 96 final?

Germany won the final 2–1, with Oliver Bierhoff scoring the golden goal in the 95th minute….UEFA Euro 1996 Final.

Czech Republic Germany 1 2
Event UEFA Euro 1996
Date 30 June 1996 (1996-06-30)
Venue Wembley Stadium, London
Man of the Match Karel Poborský (Czech Republic)

Where did the England team stay in 1996?

In 1996, Burnham Beeches was the place to stay. Four-star luxury, a few miles down the road from England’s training centre at Bisham Abbey and half hour down the motorway to the old stadium.

Who beat England in 1996?

Euro 1996 SF, England vs Germany – Recap: When Gareth Southgate missed a penalty, and England were knocked out. England and Germany have enjoyed a rivalry for the past two decades, and the rivalry reached its peak during the infamous Euro 1996 semifinal at Wembley.

Who was England manager 1996?

Glenn Hoddle

Coach/Manager Term L
Bobby Robson 1982-1990 18
Graham Taylor 1990-1993 7
Terry Venables 1994-1996 1
Glenn Hoddle 1996-1999 5

Who was England captain in Euro 1996?

Tony Adams

No. Pos. Player
5 DF Tony Adams (captain)
6 DF Gareth Southgate
7 MF David Platt
8 MF Paul Gascoigne