Who is the 1st speaker of new Parliament in Sri Lanka?

Who is the 1st speaker of new Parliament in Sri Lanka?

Speaker of the Parliament of Sri Lanka
Residence The Speaker’s Residence, Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte
Appointer Parliament of Sri Lanka
Constituting instrument Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
Inaugural holder Alexander Francis Molamure

When was the new Parliament House opened?

May 9, 1988Parliament House / Opened

What is the name of the Sri Lanka Parliament?

The Parliament of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka (Sinhala: ශ්‍රී ලංකා පාර්ලිමේන්තුව Shri Lanka Parlimenthuwa, Tamil: இலங்கை நாடாளுமன்றம் Ilaṅkai nāṭāḷumaṉṟam) is the supreme legislative body of Sri Lanka.

How many MLA are there in Sri Lanka?

15th Parliament of Sri Lanka
Members 225
Speaker Karu Jayasuriya (UNP)
Deputy Speaker and Chairman of Committees Thilanga Sumathipala (SLFP) (2015-18) Ananda Kumarasiri (UNP) (2018-20)
Deputy Chairman of Committees Selvam Adaikalanathan (TELO)

Who officially opened new Parliament House?

Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II
‘ By 1988, ‘new’ Parliament House was completed and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II opened it on 9 May that year.

How many ministers are there in Sri Lanka parliament?

The parliament of the Sri Lanka has set of ministers. They are categorized either as the ministers of cabinet and non cabinet. According to the 19th amendment the number of cabinet ministers is limited to 28. This is a list of ministries of Sri Lanka.

Who built Sri Lanka parliament?

Sri Lanka’s Parliament Building was designed by respected local architect Geoffrey Bawa.

Who is the famous leader in Sri Lanka?

Mahinda Rajapaksa

His Excellency Mahinda Rajapaksa MP
Nationality Sri Lankan
Political party Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (after 2018)
Other political affiliations Sri Lanka Freedom Party (before 2018)
Spouse(s) Shiranthi Rajapaksa (née Wickremesinghe)

Who built Sri Lanka Parliament?