What region is Somalia in?

What region is Somalia in?

Somalia, easternmost country of Africa, on the Horn of Africa. It extends from just south of the Equator northward to the Gulf of Aden and occupies an important geopolitical position between sub-Saharan Africa and the countries of Arabia and southwestern Asia.

Where is Galmudug Somalia?

Galmudug is the most centrally located area in Somalia. It is situated about 750 km from Mogadishu, Bosaso and Harar in Ethiopia. The region is bordered to the east by the Indian Ocean, to the west by Ethiopia, to the north by Puntland, and to the south by the Hirshabelle.

Where is north of Somalia?

It is bordered by Ethiopia to the west, the Gulf of Aden to the north, the Somali Sea and Guardafui Channel to the east, and Kenya to the southwest. With a land area of 637,657 square kilometers, Somalia’s terrain consists mainly of plateaus, plains and highlands….Geography of Somalia.

Region Horn of Africa
Coastline 3,333 km (2,071 mi)

How many regions are there in Somalia?

18 Regions
Administrative divisions of Somalia

Regions of Somalia Gobollada Soomaaliya (Somali) مناطق الصومال (Arabic)
Number 18 Regions (as of 1984)
Populations 362,921 (Middle Juba) — 1,650,227 (Banaadir) (2014 estimates)
Areas Unknown
Government Region government

Where is Gufgaduud?

Galguduud (Somali: Galgaduud, Arabic: جلجدود, Italian: Galgudud or Ghelgudud) is an administrative region (gobol) of Galmudug state in central Somalia. Its administrative capital is Dusmareb.

How big is Hirshabelle?

It is bordered by Galmudug state of Somalia to the north, South West State of Somalia and Banadir region to the south, Ethiopia to the west and the Indian Ocean to the east. Jowhar is the capital of the Hirshabelle state of Somalia….Population.

Region Population
Middle Shabelle 4,200,000
Total 5,700,000

Which is the largest region in Somalia?

In terms of landmass, Bari is the largest province in the Federal Republic of Somalia.

How many regions does Somalia have?

18 regions
In 1982, Somalia reorganized from eight provinces into 16 regions. In June 1984, Awdal was split from Woqooyi Galbeed and Sool was split from Nugaal to form the current 18 regions.