What is the next election in Tamil Nadu?

What is the next election in Tamil Nadu?

2021 Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly election

6 April 2021
All 234 elected seats in the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly 118 seats needed for a majority
Turnout 73.63% ( 1.18%)

How many legislative constituencies are there in Tamil Nadu?

The Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly alone has powers to legislate laws covering state. As of 2011, it comprises members from 235 constituencies, of whom 234 are democratically elected using the First-past-the-post system. The remaining member is nominated as a representative of the Anglo Indian community.

What is the minimum number of members in the State Legislative Council?

Composition. The size of the State Legislative Council cannot be more than one third of the membership of the State Legislative Assembly. However, its size cannot be less than 40 members.

What are the qualifications of Legislative Assembly?


  • The person should be a citizen of India.
  • Not less than 25 years of age to be a member of the Legislative Assembly and not less than 30 years (as per Article 173 of Indian Constitution) to be a member of the Legislative Council.

When was the last election held in Tamil Nadu?

The Sixteenth Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly Election was held on 6 April 2021, to elect representatives from the 234 constituencies in the Indian state of Tamil Nadu. The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) won the election, ending the decade-long reign of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK).

How many constituencies are there in Tamil Nadu 2021 elections?

The sixteenth legislative assembly election of Tamil Nadu is scheduled to be held on 6 April 2021, to elect Members of the Legislative Assembly from 234 constituencies in the state of Tamil Nadu in India. The term of the previous Fifteenth Legislative Assembly of Tamil Nadu will end on 24 May 2021.

What is the name of the leader of Tamil Nadu legislative assembly?

2021 Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly election First party Second party Leader M. K. Stalin Edappadi K. Palaniswami Party DMK AIADMK Alliance SPA NDA Leader since 2018 2017

How many voters are there in Tamilnadu?

There were over 5.79 crore voters in the electoral rolls and 65,616 polling stations in Tamil Nadu. A special purification drive of electoral rolls between 15 and 29 February 2016 in all poll-bound States including Tamil Nadu was held, in which door-to-door verification was undertaken involving booth-level agents.