What is the current status of Article 370?

What is the current status of Article 370?

On 3 April 2018, the Supreme Court of India gave a similar opinion declaring that Article 370 has acquired a permanent status. It stated that, since the State Constituent Assembly has ceased to exist, the President of India would not be able to fulfill the mandatory provisions required for its abrogation.

Is Article 370 removed from UPSC?

On 5th of August 2019, the President of India promulgated the Constitution (Application to Jammu and Kashmir) Order, 2019. It revokes the special status given to Jammu & Kashmir under Article 370 and Article 35A.

When did President of India issued order to make J&K a union territory?

Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019
Assented to 9 August 2019
Signed by President of India (Ram Nath Kovind)
Signed 9 August 2019
Effective 31 October 2019

Which state in India has a special status?

(a) to (d) : As per the information provided by the NITI Aayog, 11 states namely, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura and Uttarakhand were granted special category status.

Is Article 370 revoked?

In April 2018, the Supreme Court of India ruled that Article 370 had attained permanency since the state constituent assembly has ceased to exist. To overcome this legal challenge, the Indian government instead rendered Article 370 as ‘inoperative’ even though it still exists in the constitution.

Is Kashmir now part of India?

India has control of about half the area of the former princely state of Jammu and Kashmir, which comprises Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, while Pakistan controls a third of the region, divided into two provinces, Azad Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan.

Can I buy land in Nagaland?

Inner Line Permit (ILP) is applicable in Mizoram, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh under the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation of 1873, by which citizens from the other parts of India have to take permits to enter these states to check influx and outsiders can’t buy land in the Sixth Schedule and other tribal areas such …