What is an example of DSM-5?

What is an example of DSM-5?

Example categories in the DSM-5 include anxiety disorders, bipolar and related disorders, depressive disorders, feeding and eating disorders, obsessive-compulsive and related disorders, and personality disorders.

What are the 5 axis of the DSM-IV classification system?

Sexual and Gender Identity Disorders. Eating Disorders. Sleep Disorders. Impulse-Control Disorders Not Else Classified.

What are the five axes of DSM-5?

Axis I consisted of mental health and substance use disorders (SUDs); Axis II was reserved for personality disorders and mental retardation; Axis III was used for coding general medical conditions; Axis IV was to note psychosocial and environmental problems (e.g., housing, employment); and Axis V was an assessment of …

Is the DSM-5 valid?

The DSM-5 yielded satisfactory reliability, validity and classification accuracy. In comparing the DSM-5 to the DSM-IV, most comparisons of reliability, validity and classification accuracy showed more similarities than differences.

What is the role of DSM-5 in making a diagnosis?

DSM contains descriptions, symptoms, and other criteria for diagnosing mental disorders. It provides a common language for clinicians to communicate about their patients and establishes consistent and reliable diagnoses that can be used in the research of mental disorders.

Are there axis in DSM-5?

Axes I, II and III have been eliminated in the DSM-5 (APA, 2013). Clinicians can simply list any disorders or conditions previously coded on these three Axes together and in order of clinical priority or focus (APA, 2013).

What are the five axis of the DSM-5?

The DSM categorizes disorders according to the following five axes: Axis I: Clinical disorders, such as panic disorder and bipolar disorder Axis II: Personality disorders and mental retardation, including narcissistic personality disorder and avoidant personality disorder

What is the DSM IV multi-axial assessment Axis I?

DSM-IV Multi-Axial Assessment Axis I provided information about clinical disorders. Any mental health conditions, other than personality disorders or mental retardation, would have been included here. Disorders which would have fallen under this axis include: Disorders Usually Diagnosed in Infancy, Childhood or Adolescence

What are the key changes from DSM-IV to DSM-5?

One of the key changes from DSM-IV to DSM-5 is the elimination of the multi-axial system. DSM-IV approached psychiatric assessment and organization of biopsychosocial information using a multi-axial formulation ( American Psychiatric Association, 2013b ). There were five different axes.

What is an example of Axis 4?

Categories and Examples. The DSM lists Axis IV factors into the following groups: Problems with primary support group, such as death of a spouse, recent divorce, or child neglect. Problems related to the social environment, such as inadequate social support, retirement, or death of a close friend.