What is a WIDA can do descriptor?

What is a WIDA can do descriptor?

The WIDA Can Do Descriptors provide examples of what language learners can do at various stages of English language development in listening, speaking, reading and writing. The WIDA Can Do Descriptors, Key Uses Edition is one component of the WIDA Standards Framework (shown at right).

What is one way teachers can use the can do descriptors?

The WIDA Consortium states that educators and early childhood practitioners can also use the Can Do Descriptors in the following ways: Collaborate and engage in conversations about language for learning as children and youth move along the continuum of language development. Understand ACCESS for ELLs test scores.

How do you use the can do descriptors?

To utilize the descriptors, simply locate those appropriate for your grade level. Identify the language domain of the key task you’d like students to complete as part of the lesson (Listening, Reading, Speaking, Writing). Finally move across the row to the language proficiency level of your student(s).

What is the Can Do philosophy?

The WIDA Can Do Philosophy reflects the foundational belief that everyone has valuable resources they can use to support their own and others’ learning. Linguistically and culturally diverse learners, in particular, bring a unique set of assets that enrich any learning community.

What is the relationship between can do descriptors and key uses?

The Can Do Descriptors, Key Uses Edition can help educators see what English language learners (ELLs) can do with language in different situations, and in different content areas, throughout their journey toward English language proficiency.

Why are can do descriptors important?

The descriptors can help you look at an activity you plan to do with your English-speaking students, then scale it back for ELL students so that they are still interacting with the academic content, just at a simplified level.

What are the key uses WIDA?

WIDA identified four Key Language Uses—Narrate, Inform, Explain, and Argue—that appear across all content areas and that teachers can use to prioritize and organize the integration of content and language.

How do you use descriptors?

What are the five WIDA Eld proficiency levels?

• Five grade-level clusters: PreK–K, 1–2, 3–5, 6–8, and 9–12. The WIDA ELD Standards document consists of thousands of model performance indicators (MPIs). An MPI is a single cell within the standards’ matrices that describes a specific level of language proficiency for a language domain.

What are the WIDA levels?

– Standard 1 – Social and Instructional Language. English language learners communicate for social and instructional purposes within the school setting. – Standard 2 – Language of Language Arts. – Standard 3 – Language of Mathematics. – Standard 4 – Language of Science. – Standard 5 – Language of Social Studies.

What does WIDA stand for ell?

– WIDA Website: http://www.wida.us/index.aspx – Wida Standards manual: http://www.wida.us/standards/6-12%20Standards%20web.pdf – The English Language Learner CAN-DO Booklet (Grades 6-8): http://www.wida.us/standards/CAN_DOs/Booklet6-8.pdf – The English Language Learner CAN-DO Booklet (Grades 9-12): http://www.wida.us/standards/CAN_DOs/Booklet9-12.pdf

Can do descriptors 6 8?

WIDA Levels for Grades 6-8 The Can Do Descriptors for Grades 6-8 (and most other clusters) are organized into six levels. Descriptors start at Level 1 (for beginners) and extend up to Level 6. More…