What does a BEM medal look like?

What does a BEM medal look like?

The Medal of the Order of the British Empire awarded from 1917 to 1922 was a circular silver medal, 30 millimetres (1.2 in) in diameter, showing a seated Britannia and the inscription FOR GOD AND THE EMPIRE on the obverse and the Royal cypher on the reverse.

What are the 5 orders of the British Empire?

The five classes of both civil and military divisions, listed in descending order and conferred on men and women equally, are Knight and Dame Grand Cross (GBE), Knight and Dame Commander (KBE and DBE, respectively), Commander (CBE), Officer (OBE), and Member (MBE).

Is OBE better than MBE?

The highest-ranking is a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE), followed by OBE (Officer) and then the MBE (Member).

Is divide and conquer still used today?

It was used by the Romans when they took Britain, when the British Empire took India, and when the Anglo-Normans took Ireland. A staple political strategy, divide and conquer is still used by many countries today.

What is the British War Medal?

The British War Medal was awarded to personnel in recognition of the successful conclusion of World War 1. It was later extended until 1920 to cover mine-clearing services and operations in North and South Russia, the eastern Baltic, Siberia, the Black Sea and Caspian.

What are the different types of military awards in the UK?

1 Orders of the Bath and the British Empire 2 Royal Red Cross (Class I) ( RRC) 3 Distinguished Service Cross ( DSC) 4 Military Cross ( MC) 5 Distinguished Flying Cross ( DFC) 6 Air Force Cross ( AFC) 7 Royal Red Cross (Class II) (ARRC) 8 George Medal ( GM) 9 Queen’s Gallantry Medal ( QGM) 10 Queen’s Volunteer Reserves Medal (QVRM)

What is the most visited medal in the UK?

Most Visited British Medals, Orders & Decorations. 1 The Order of the Garter (1348) The Order of the Garter is an order of chivalry founded by Edward III in 1348 and regarded as the most prestigious 2 The Victoria Cross (1883) 3 The Inter-Allied Victory Medal (1918) 4 The Distinguished Flying Cross (1918) 5 The 1939-1945 Star (1943)