What are the new abortion laws in Texas?

What are the new abortion laws in Texas?

Texas governor Greg Abbott signed the new legislation into law on May 19, 2021. Another related act, the Human Life Protection Act (House Bill 1280), was passed later that year. That law prospectively bans all abortions in Texas, except to save the life of the mother, if Roe v. Wade is overturned by the Supreme Court.

How many weeks can you have a termination up to?

Medical and surgical abortions can generally only be carried out up to 24 weeks of pregnancy. In very limited circumstances an abortion can take place after 24 weeks – for example, if there’s a risk to life or there are problems with the baby’s development.

What do you need to know about termination in Texas?

Texas Termination (with Discharge): What you need to know. Texas is a strong “employment-at-will” state. This means that either the employer or the employee may end the employment relationship without giving either notice or a reason. However, while this is true in theory, some Texas laws and Texas courts have changed the traditional doctrine.

What are the filing requirements for mergers and terminations in Texas?

Generally, Texas law requires a filing entity to file an instrument with the secretary of state for mergers, conversions, terminations, and withdrawals. If an entity is forfeited for failure to file a franchise tax report and/or pay franchise taxes, is there a time-limit for reinstatement?

Can a new shareholder terminate a corporation in Texas?

The new shareholder would have to consent to a voluntary termination or take other action to have the corporation approve the termination under the Texas Business Organizations Code. For more information, please contact your private attorney. What is a Certificate of Account Status for Dissolution/Termination? Do I need one?

What is the notice period for a work separation in Texas?

normally, except in the event of a mass layoff, no notice to the state of Texas is required for any kind of work separation, but if the employee was subject to a wage garnishment order for child support or alimony, the employer must notify the New Hire division of the Attorney General’s office within seven days of the work separation; and