What are the major geographical features of Argentina?

What are the major geographical features of Argentina?

Argentina can roughly be divided into four main geographical areas: the spectacular Andes mountain range, the dry North along with the more verdant Mesopotamia, the lush plains of the Pampas and the windswept wastes of Patagonia.

What are some natural features in Argentina?

Seven Natural Wonders of Argentina

  • Perito Moreno in Parque Nacional de los Glaciares.
  • Parque Nacional Nahuel Huapi.
  • Salinas Grandes, Jujuy.
  • Bañado la Estrella, Formosa.
  • Río Mina Clavero, Córdoba.
  • Selva Misionera, Misiones.
  • Parque Nacional Talampaya, La Rioja.

What type of terrain is Argentina?

Argentina Geography

Geographic Location South America
Coastline 3,100 Miles 4,989 Kilometers
Geographic Coordinates 34 00 S, 64 00 W
Terrain rich plains of the Pampas in northern half, flat to rolling plateau of Patagonia in south, rugged Andes along western border
Highest Point 6,960 Meters

What is the landscape and climate of Argentina?

Climate of Argentina. Argentina lies almost entirely within the temperate zone of the Southern Hemisphere, unlike the rest of the continent to the north, which lies within the tropics. Tropical air masses only occasionally invade the provinces of Formosa and Misiones in the extreme north.

What type of terrain covers most of central Argentina?

What type of terrain covers most of central Argentina? The Pampas is one of the largest fertile grassland plains in the world, covering almost one third of Argentina’s land area. Pampa is in fact a Quechua word meaning “flat plain”.

What is the environment in Argentina?

The major environmental issues in Argentina are pollution and the loss of agricultural lands. The soil is threatened by erosion, salinization, and deforestation. In the 1995, Argentina had 33,942 ha (83,872 acres) of forest and woodland. Air pollution is also a problem due to chemical agents from industrial sources.

Does Argentina have two female presidents?

Cristina Fernández de Kirchner became the second female president of Argentina, and the first one directly elected as such (Isabel Perón was elected as vice president, and became president after the death of Juan Perón). In elections of November 2015, she was succeeded by Mauricio Macri as President.

How many landforms does Argentina have?

Four landforms of Argentina you can’t miss.

What type of vegetation is in Argentina?

Vegetation includes species of mimosa and acacia, and there is a smattering of cactus. Hares, skunks, and small deer abound in this part of the Northwest.

What are the most prominent geographic features of Argentina?

Argentina’s diverse geography encompasses everything from harsh deserts to humid jungles, and long ocean beaches to the soaring Andes. Stretching from the subtropical north to the subantarctic regions of beautiful Patagonia in the south, Argentina’s cultural, artistic, and architectural heritage is just as diverse, drawing upon influences from

What are some geological features of Argentina?

Rivers. Except in the northeast there are few large rivers,and many have only seasonal flows.

  • Lakes. The Los Lagos Region (Lake District),on the border of Chile and Argentina in the Andes mountain region,contains many glacial lakes that are carved out of the mountains
  • Wetlands.
  • What are 4 geographic features?


  • bay
  • canyon
  • crater lake
  • erg
  • fjord
  • glacier
  • lagoon
  • moraine
  • oxbow lake
  • What are the four main regions of Argentina?

    Andean Northwest: Catamarca,Jujuy,La Rioja,Tucuman,and western parts of Salta&Santiago del Estero.

  • Chaco: Chaco,Formosa,and eastern parts of Salta&Santiago del Estero.
  • Mesopotamia: Mendoza,San Juan,and San Luis.
  • Pampas: Corrientes,Entre Rios,and Misiones.
  • Patagonia: Buenos Aires,City of Buenos Aires,Cordoba,La Pampa,and Santa Fe.