How do you get a Class A license in Colorado?

How do you get a Class A license in Colorado?

What are the Steps to Obtaining Your Colorado CDL?

  1. Valid driver license from Colorado or another state, or a commercial permit.
  2. Current DOT medical card – find a FMCSA Certified Medical Examiner in your area.
  3. Proof of identity.
  4. Proof of legal presence.
  5. Proof of Colorado residency.
  6. Social Security number issued to you.

What is a Class A license in Colorado?

Class A. A class ‘A’ license is a commercial driver’s license (CDL). This permits you to drive any combination of vehicles with a gross weight rating (GCWR) of 26,000 or more, provided that the GCWR of the towed vehicle is more than 10,000 GCWR.

How do I get a CDL license in Colorado?

You will need to visit a driver license office and successfully pass the written tests that apply to the commercial license you desire. The Commercial Driver Handbook is under Driver Education. Once you have successfully passed the required exams, purchase a CDL permit for the applicable fee.

How much does it cost to get your CDL in Colorado?

Once you pass the CDL driving test, pay the $35 license fee to obtain your Colorado CDL. Note that this brings the total Colorado CDL license cost to $49, plus the cost of a completed DOT medical certificate, which will vary depending on your physician and insurance.

What disqualifies you from getting a CDL in Colorado?

Being convicted of DUI or DWAI. Committing a felony using a motor vehicle. Leaving the scene of an accident. Negligently causing the death of another person while driving a CMV.

Which CDL class is the best?

Class A CDL
A Class A CDL allows you to have more opportunity and variety in your career and is the best choice if you are looking for a long-term career as a driver. If traveling the country appeals to you, Class A CDLs allow for interstate travel.